Skip to Content

College of Arts and Sciences

Dean: Dr. Ron Williams

Associate Dean and Executive Director of Freshman/Sophomore College: Dr. Eric Sun

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies: Dr. Debra Matthews

The College of Arts & Sciences offers programs of study leading to bachelor’s degrees in the areas of Biology, Mathematics, Psychology, History, Criminal Justice, New Media and Communications, English and Public Service as well as Interdisciplinary Studies. Associate degrees are available in a variety of technical areas. The University also participates in the Regent Engineering Transfer Program with Georgia Tech and Georgia Southern University.

Realizing that a modern college education is grounded in a firm understanding of a diverse set of disciplines, the faculty of the University of Arts & Sciences is committed to providing excellent instruction in both Core Curriculum courses and in upper-level courses leading to the baccalaureate degree.

The College of Arts & Sciences consists of six academic departments:

  • Department of English – Chair: Dr. Amy Berke
  • Department of History and Political Science – Chair: Dr. Matt Zimmerman
  • Department of Mathematics – Interim Chair: Dr. John Trimboli
  • Department of Media Culture, & the Arts – Interim Chair: Dr. Robert McTyre
  • Department of Natural Sciences – Chair: Dr. Dawn Sherry
  • Department of Psychology, Sociology and Criminal Justice – Chair: Dr. David Biek

Administrative offices for the College of Arts & Sciences are located in College of Arts & Sciences Building, the Mathematics Building, the Education and the Charles H. Jones Building.